Powering up the μController Display Module

In the last post, I set up the infrastructure on my newly configured PC to make sure that it can at least communicate and program a chip. I needed to do this before jumping in and starting to program the μControll based display module to minimise the number of issues to be encountered.

Initial Check and Power up.

Initial testI am happy with the approach and it certainly did help. Though it did not minimise the number of issues encountered, it made them more manageable to solve.

Before powering up I went back over the schematic and lay out to be sure that there were any issues. I did have a doubt about the way in which I was handling the programmer pin header. As it turned out, my concern was correct but I could work around it. I just had to break out the pin header to another and connect up the reset pin correctly. The status lights of the AVRISP were a bit of a guide that there were still problems. As I worked through them, I finally got the all green lights! Now it was time to try my first on-board program. The image shows my basic test harness. To bread-board the controller board with a single seven segment display.

This was the first time I would be programming a micro controller on-board. This also mean verifying the tool chain as well. I had already mentioned about setting up a controller on the bread board and proving the setup with that. This time there is no easy way to swap a jumper lead if something is wrong. What I did learn was that the BASCOM IDE is not very helpful for connection issues. I did find the AVR Studio was much more informative. Only from the point of view that using their programmer, you can read the signature of the device. When that returns OK, then you know that the basic infrastructure is ready.

Integration Test

Integration TestNow that the board can be connected to and programmed, the next step was to connect the controller to the seven segment display board. Here I discovered another issue. Since this is all on the bread board, then it was easy to work around – Going back on the schematic I could see that I really did miss translating the pin-header changes I made to the controller board to the display board. A silly oversight but something to keep in mind for next time.


$regfile = "m88pdef.dat"
$crystal = 1000000
$hwstack = 40
$swstack = 16
$framesize = 32

' $baud = 4800


Config Portc = Output                       ' Digits
Config Portd = Output                       ' Segments

Dim Digit As Byte
Dim Count As Byte

Do
   For Count = 0 To 9
      Portd = Count                             
      For Digit = 0 To 5
         Portc = Digit
         Waitms 500
      Next                                  ' digit
   Next                                     ' count
Loop
End

Next Steps

I don’t need to go back and re-work the boards just yet. I can move on in their current state. The next step is to start the build the real firmware that will implement the expected API for the display module. Though now that I am this far, there is an interesting diversion to make with the project. Since this module has a SPI interface, it is possible to set this up as the main controller after all. That is to interface the Real Time Clock directly to this module so it displays the real time. This does not achieve the full objectives of the project though since it will not be able to implement any of the switches that are intended in the original design. But this could be an interesting way to test the digit display code.

Leave a Reply

